Category 1

Developmental Activities

ECSA-accredited educational activities such as:

  • Conferences
  • Courses
  • Colloquiums
  • Workshops

You must earn at least 5 points in this category over a 5 year period.

You may earn a maximum of 4 points in this category per year.

Watch a conference

Get started now


Category 2

Work-based Activities

Work-based activities include:

  • Engineering work
  • 1 point = 300 hours of work
  • A maximum of 2 points can be earned in a year
  • Mentoring candidate engineers
  • A minimum of 50 hours earns a maximum of 1 point

Category 3

Individual Activities

Individual activities include:

  • Membership of a voluntary association 
  • The association must be recognised by ECSA
  • For example, SAIIE. Go to if you would like to become a member
  • 1 point per year
  • Part-time lecturing
  • To undergraduate or postgraduate engineering students
  • 1 point for 10 hours of lecturing
  • Supervising postgraduate studies
  • For Engineering students studying a postgraduate degree
  • 2 points per year
  • Oral examination 
  • Of final year and postgraduate engineering students
  • 1 point per 10 hours
  • External examiner
  • Evaluation of engineering Master dissertations / PhD theses
  • 2 points per year
  • Publication in a journal
  • Publication of engineering research in peer reviewed journals
  • 2 points per paper for a single author
  • 1 point per paper per author for multiple authors
  • Publication of a technical article
  • 1 point per article
  • Participation in committees or task groups
  • Participation in statutory, professional, intstitutional, technical or non-technical committees or task groups
  • 1 point per 10 hours
  • Presenting at conferences or congresses
  • Presentation of papers OR poster presentations
  • 1 point per presentation
  • Email [email protected] if you are interested in presenting at an online conference
  • Evaluation of educational qualifications
  • Evaluation for ECSA
  • 1 point per 10 hours
  • Evaluation of competence and applications for ECSA registration
  • 1 point per 10 hours
  • Tertiary education institution accreditation visits
  • Participating in Engineering accreditation visits to tertiary education institutions
  • 1 point per 10 hours
  • Relevant postgraduate qualification
  • Maximum 5 points for a completed qualification
  • Self-study
  • Studying journals or electronic or computerised material
  • You must be able to prove this self-study
  • 1 point per 10 hours

Please note that the above information was taken from the ECSA website. If you need any further clarification you can contact ECSA directly. 

CPD Ninja is not liable for any misunderstanding or misinterpretation of how to earn CPD points.